top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemadhu bioinfo

Who am I?

Updated: Sep 28, 2021

This is the safe page where you can find my musings research, bioinformatics fun stuff, my views, career-related things such as how to identify the lab where you want to do Ph.D. and how to choose the right lab for a postdoc, etc. Also, you get to see some fun travel-related stories as well.





More about myself

I was born in small a rural area in the southern part of India. When I started my schooling, there was no proper transportation to connect from my school to my hometown. I have to cross the canal to take public transport and go to study. When it rains, my father/uncle gave me a piggy ride to get to the other side. That's how it started. Initially, it was tougher, later things were gradually progressing and somehow I passed my board exams with flying colors. Later I joined the boarding school, where I learned many new things, habits, and friends. That was one of the best times I have spent in that boarding school.


Undergrad life

I studied my BSc in Bioinformatics at Pondicherry. well choosing Bioinformatics was my idea, after doing a google search in an internet cafe, came up with the idea of studying Bioinformatics. It was fancy learning about coding, blast, databases, genomics, and more on computers. Also, I liked those cool stuff. That's how I was introduced to Bioinformatics.


Masters in Structural Bioinformatics

During my masters in Bioinformatics, I got bored since I was the only girl in my class :(. Most of the times people didn't show up for classes. I did attend classes and did my assignments etc. During that time, I was just focused only on studying and I moved to JNU New Delhi for my internship on protein folding. All my efforts paid off, I secured the gold medal in my department for the topper in Bioinformatics.


Ph.D. in Bioinformatics

My gold medal helped me to obtain DST-AORC fellowship from the Government of India. That money helped me to complete my Ph.D. within 5 years. I have chosen one of the best labs in India to do my Ph.D. when I was in My Ph.D., I was able to go to conferences, travel, and share my work with other scientists in the field. My Ph.D. mentor was a great inspiration for me. Whenever I was down and I lost confidence, she helped me with positive hopes and thoughts. I had learnt many things during my Ph.D.


I think this is enough for my first blog post, I am excited to share all my knowledge, cool bioinformatics tricks, etc in future blogs. keep watching :)

37 views0 comments
bottom of page